Welcome to School Partnerships Alliance

This is a holding site, the new School Partnerships Alliance (S.P.A.) website is being developed.

The S.P.A. will focus on promoting the best partnership practice across both state and independent education sectors, working closely with schools and other stakeholders to build a national network, drawing on the very best examples of sustainable and impactful partnerships.

School Partnerships Alliance

Charitable status

The School Partnerships Alliance (S.P.A.) is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (charity number 1196215). The journey from what was a small group of partnerships professionals just five years ago to this independent well supported charity has been swift and exciting. SPA’s objects highlight the desire of the educational sector to build sustainable school partnerships which become embedded into the educational landscape.


The trustees have high aspirations for the charity and are pleased with the enthusiasm for its objectives from all sectors following the Charity Commission approval. S.P.A.’s mission is to promote and help develop sustainable and impactful cross sector partnerships which focus on addressing disadvantage; ones which promote mutual benefit and respect across the system. 

S.P.A. will

  • develop an industry wide “kite-mark” for partnerships across schools in the state and independent sectors;
  • offer professional CPD and share best practice;
  • convene an annual conference, bringing together schools, partnership professionals, like-minded organisations and government bodies (both national and local);
  • commission and disseminate research;
  • commission longitudinal impact assessment research, for the benefit of schools and the sector as a whole;
  • promote S.P.A. expertise;
  • facilitate an on-going relationship with organisations and government engaged in partnerships.

Trustees and Board

The trustees are Sarah Butterworth (Chair), Tom Arbuthnott, Nicki Mattin, Leo Winkley, Julie Robinson, Jodh Dhesi and Evelyn Forde.

The Advisory Board comprises Lord Nash, David Laws, Kate Chhatwal, Stuart Burns, Rowena Hackwood, Fiona Boulton, Carl Ward, James Turner, Leora Cruddas, Tony Hartney, Andrew Halls, James Handscombe, Ali Henderson and Professor Anne Bamford.

Sue Riley is the CEO.

Registered office: 6th Floor, Minster House, 42 Mincing Lane, London, EC3R 7AE  

Charitable Incorporated Organisation registered in England and Wales (number: 1196215) 

Email address: info@schoolpartnershipsalliance.org.uk